Uncategorized

Grandiosity part 2

 

Do I o’erreach in declaiming my talent

Do I defame his? Emulate but do not compare

My poetry to, my mere scribblings to

The mighty words Blake wrote—

Anointing all who listen, all who read

With the rich images pouring from his pen

My scribbling does not aspire to god as his
poetry did

They do not touch the skies or even brush the firmament

No stars shine forth from my writings and I am not

Anointed by my muse to shed the light of
poetry’s profound imagings nor share

The light of great thoughts and deep beauty with all who read or listen.

I emulate but do not compare my meager output
with his dazzling, divinely inspired fire

Blake stands alone and has no company in me

 

Leave a Reply

