#memory · #poetry · Bina · endings · estrangement · family · memory · nostalgia

Chameleons atop the rock wall

Chameleons on rock fences,

By RedGazelle15 - Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=47288707
By RedGazelle15 – Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=47288707

My mother’s aunt and her dog,

–I have spoken of them before–

Bina, the great dane that treed my

Father, left him stuck on a ladder,

When he picked oranges on his visit

To the orchard in Zahariya, when I

Heard that Bina died — my memory

Says of snakebite– I was saddened

I miss Bina more than I miss my father

That, too, saddens me

Leave a Reply

