better choices · P.O.V. · riff

It’s on the tip of my tongue….

RiverRailing
Photo © Tamara Beck 2016

Is it just lassitude that I forget the word “inertia” when I most need it?

Inertia and lethargy seem to go hand in hand, but I never forget the word for
that listless feeling. And although torpor or indolence may do as a stand-in for
“inertia,” inertia has a very specific meaning as well.

It is generally because of its scientific implications, its use as a law of physics that I most look for inertia and have trouble finding it.

I am counting on this little essay to help me keep it in mind.

 

 

Leave a Reply

