Daily Prompt · lest you forget · opinions · P.O.V. · pen · recalling · remembering · riff · take note

Grab a pencil!

qwerty
QWERTY by Tamara Beck

via Discover Challenge: Transcript

No, wait, no one uses those anymore. People make notes in their Notepad, which is on a device in a virtual application of some sort or other for use on Android, Windows or Mac. This means that that chances that there is a transcript of proceedings or thoughts are minimal.

Of course, a transcript can be a printed version of a text so you can print out the Notepad and voilà, you have a transcript. After all, a transcript is a record of something originally presented in another medium.

I confess that, although I am a wild user of social media and a heavy duty blogger, I do use a pen or pencil as a prelim to my process. I don’t keep my handwritten transcripts– often even I have trouble figuring out what I meant to say– but I use them for guidance when I go to the laptop to type up my reflections.

Once upon a time, in the good old days, when you transcribed something, you were putting thought to paper. Or, I suppose, truly old school, you wrote it down on papyrus, and before that on the cave wall.

 

Leave a Reply

