Daily Prompt

Extremely Bright and Clear

via Daily Prompt: Vivid

SlavaSpitzerColors that sparkle, are intense and alluring are oft described as vivid. It is liveliness attributed to a hue that has us describing it with this adjective.

Memories that are acute get a similar descriptive. I can eloquently recall my mother’s advice, for instance, or her favorite sayings. My memory of her are dramatically clear and evocative.

The word vivid derives from the Latin for to live, vivere. It takes on meaning as picturesque, authentic and lifelike.My mother lives in my memories of her. The histories she shared with me over the years were fascinating, stirring and colorful.

The past is as vivid as a red rose in full bloom.

Leave a Reply

