#history · #living · #loss · #observation · education · theater

Je ne regrette rien

Tamara_Beck_1
Lost in thought?

It is a challenge to live life without remorse. There is always something you should have said, or could have done differently, better to remind you that you are merely mortal.

Nonetheless, I have so few regrets, at least of things I failed to do. One big one is not having had georgraphy classes while attending a school with a world-class program. Taking the opportunity to learn more about urban planning reminds me also of some of my failings in predicting Tony winners. (See my 2014, If/Then expectations, for instance. The play is about an urban planner, so I am not digressing too far afield. It is also about regrets, or paths not taken and choices made.)

The misguided Tony picks, however, are sins of commission that I do not really rue. I enjoy placing my annual bet (as I did this year at The Wright Wreport and for several years before that as well, almost always with less than a perfect score.) I also truly love the theater and the opportunities I get to be in the audience.

Not having had a shot at a career which shapes cities is a genuine lament. The college I attended, Clark University, set a terrific path for those wishing to pursue it. It never occurred to me to do so. I think I associated Geography with something very boring, like reciting the names of capital cities. (The latter is now the name of a pop duo, apparently. Times change.) There is something for which to pay penance and act in contrition.

In four years of sometimes lackadaisical, occassionally rigorous intellectual pursuit, I never set foot in any of the classes this academic discipline offered.  In fact, I doubt that I even set foot in that department’s building. I temper this regret with my memories of a very fine education and a grand gregarious experience. To make up for my own inattention to the Geo. Dept., I always tell the perspective students I interview about Clark’s excellent reputation in Geography. If I steer one of them in the direction of this line of study,  then I will feel absolution for overlooking the chance of a lifetime.

