Daily Prompt

Make a run for it

via Daily Prompt: Dash

1frypan
Butter melting in a frypan! Add a dash of pepper. and a touch of parsley.

My cooking instructions were always for a dash of this, or a dash of that, simmer for a while, and serve when done. Sometimes, what with the vagueness and the vagaries of my kitchen etiquette, the resulting dish had me making a run for it, another type of dash.

There is also the hyphenate dash, which links two oft dissimilar things into one, such as a given surname attached to a newly acquired one. This was fashionable for my generation but my husband was not a fan. He preferred just conferring his name upon me, a gift I bear happily. No dash in my last name, unless you consider the flare he has brought to my life as a touch of dash.

One thought on “Make a run for it

Comments are closed.